Behind the Lens: Rare Storytelling by Award-Winning Photojournalist (AS/AUS/EU/AF friendly)

Live from Martina Franca, Italy

Iranian-French award-winning photojournalist and VAWAA Artist Manoocher has traveled to over 100 countries. He has lived an adventurous and bold life documenting historic encounters, conflicts, and social and environmental issues around the globe for the last forty years. Featured in publications ranging from Newsweek to National Geographic, and having worked for the United Nations across continents, he is nothing short of remarkable with unique anecdotes to tell about world history.

Also a passionate teacher, Manoocher founded AINA Photojournalism Institute in Kabul, where he trained Afghan photographers who had not touched a camera in their lives, including the first female Afghan photographers and a student who is now a Pulitzer award winner. Today, he leads a self-sustaining life in southern Italy, where he grows his own food and produces wine and olive oil.

Join Manoocher for an intimate and rare storytelling session on Saturday, July 11, at 3am New York time. That is 9am in Paris, 12:30pm in Mumbai, 3pm in Singapore, and 5pm in Sydney. He'll show photos from his work of 40 years around the globe and tell their backstory - what really happened, how, and why.

Joining us from a different time zone? Be sure to convert the time.

How to join

We'll be hosting this VAWAA Online on Zoom. You'll receive the link and details to join via email a few hours before it begins.

Reviews

"Just completed the session and it was truly special. Hearing intimate details and the stories behind some powerful photos - some of which I remember from Newsweek and National Geographic - was inspiring and humbling. I would love to learn more from Manoocher. A second session would be great, until we can travel again and do the VAWAA." - Adi

"Judging by the title, this sounded like it would be interesting. What I was not prepared for was how overwhelmingly fascinating the session was. I could have listened to Manoocher's amazing stories for hours. Such an amazing talent and such a remarkable human being!" - Steve

"This was my first VAWAA online session, and it was truly inspiring and enriching. Its incredible to have access to such a legendary personality in such an intimate setting." - Bharat

"Virtually immersed! I felt so connected to Manoocher's experiences - he related his stories openly, slowly, and charismatically. So receptive to questions. I loved learning history through his personal insights. So enriching. Thank you for sharing your stories!" - Sulafa

"I loved seeing the different photos, he's an incredibly talented photographer. He shared some particularly interesting stories that went along with the photos as well. The hour flew by and I loved how he took questions all through the presentation instead of just at the end. I wish it would've been longer!" - Abigail

"I really enjoyed the inside story of events that I remember growing up. Very worthwhile session." - Debbie

"This was my second session with Manoocher, and like Jenny & Geetika mentioned, it was an honor. This time I got tickets for my mom and my sister to join too. For being such a badass, the humility and sparkle he speaks with is humbling. It's one of those experiences I think we owe ourselves to have at regular intervals to keep reminding ourselves of curiosity & purpose. Can't wait to attend this in person when things open up! Much thanks, Manoocher!" - Arjun


Sessions are ticketed to support artists, makers and our small team. If you’re experiencing financial hardship, please reach out. We may have a generous participant who has paid it forward and would ask that you pay the love forward by sharing online sessions with 3 new friends.

-----------------------------

Visit Manoocher's artist page to learn more about his in-person VAWAA.